Bachelor of Education in Physical Science (Honours)

Overview of the Degree

The Bachelor of Education (Honours) programme has been developed to produce competent, committed and dedicated teachers who are much needed for Bachelor of Education in Physical Sciences (Hons) Degree programme has been developed to produce OL and AL Mathematics and Physics teachers for the Public and International schools.

This Degree program has been jointly developed by Education experts from Horizon Campus in consultation with experts from National Institute of Education and subject specific Professors from academia and industry.

The programme which is accredited by the Ministry of Higher Education, Sri Lanka and offered by the Horizon Campus consists of Mathematics, Physics and Professional & General Education components, along with field practicum.

Those who successfully complete the degree programme will be awarded the Bachelor of Education in Biological Sciences (Hons) Degree.

Degrees accredited by the MOHE are considered as eligible to join Sri Lanka Teacher Service as Class 2 – Grade II. For more details, please refer to the New Sri Lanka Teachers Service Minute (Gazzette No. 1885/38 dated 23-10-2014) available at :

Gazzette No. 1885/38 dated 23-10-2014

Key Information

Duration : 4 years full-time
Tuition Fee :Tuition fee: Rs. 800,000.00

Fees payable through the Government Interest Free Student Loan Scheme.

  • Students can pay tuition fees through the Government Interest Free Loan Scheme. [Ministry ofHigher Education & Highways]
  • Students do not need to repay loan during the 4 year study period (2018-2022) and the first year after graduation (2023).
  • Loan repayment will start only in the 6th year through 12th year (2024-2030)
  • Approximate Monthly Instalment in 2024 is Rs.9523.80
Level :Honours Degree. SLQF Level 6
Approval status : This course is approved by the Ministry of Higher Education, Sri Lanka.

Sri Lanka Qualification Framework (SLQF) recognition
The award conferred upon completion is recognised in the SLQF at Level 6.

Entry Requirements

Entry Criteria will be as per the Ministry of Education Circular # 2016/13.

An applicant who has the following qualifications will be admitted to the B.Ed (Honours) in Physical Science Degree program.

Minimum of three Passes in subjects in Physical Science/Mathematics stream at G.C.E ALs in one and the same sitting including any one subject from Higher Mathematics/Combined Mathematics and Physics or Chemistry including three subjects from the following subjects;

  • Agriculture
  • Combined mathematics
  • Biology
  • Higher Mathematics
  • Chemistry
  • Physics

Career Outcomes

  • OL/AL Mathematics & Physics Teacher at Government, Private or International schools
  • Sectional Head
  • School Principal
Further study options
  • Master of Education
  • Master of Educational Leadership & Management
  • MPhil/PhD studies in Education


Course Matrix - B.Ed (Hons) in Physical Sciences.

Learning Outcomes

Please refer to the following Subject Benchmark Statements.

Subject Benchmark Statements in Education
Subject Benchmark Statements in Mathematics
Subject Benchmark Statements in Physics

Contact us on 0711 174 174 for further unit enrolment advice.

Lecturers of Malabe Branch

Professor Thaiyamuthu Thanaraj

Dean - Faculty of Education Academic Director - B'Ed Project

MBA ( Jpura ) / M.Ed ( OUSL) / BA (USL)

Dr. (Mrs )Sudharma Wickramasuriya

Course Director - English

Ed.D / MEd./ BA / BEd. / Dip in TESOL

Dr. Madduma Bandara Ekanayake

Course Director - Professional & General Subjects

Ed. D (ICT for Education) / M.Ed (Wollongong ) / Dip. Ed.( Colombo) / BSc (Peradeniya) / Trained Teacher (Mathematics) / Cert . Web Design (NIBM)

Dr. Mihira Wanninayake

Course Director - Mathematics & Physics

BSc (Peradeniya) / MSc (Nano Science & Nano Technology) / PhD (Peradeniya)

Dr. (Mrs.) Lekha Wanasekera

Dean - Faculty of Science

B.Sc. (Hons) (Sri Lanka) / Ph. D. (Immunology) (Colombo)

Lecturers of Anuradhapura Branch

Mr. J C Wijesinghe

Lecturer - Mathematics

BSc (Mathematics) - Peradeniya

Mr. Nilan Tharaka Rupasena

Lecturer - Physics

BSc (Spc) Physics / PGDStat.

Ms. .J S K C Priyangika

Lecturer - Mathematics

MSc (Mathematics) / BSc (Mathematics - Peradeniya)

Mr. M N D S Sanathchandra

Lecturer - Physics

MSc (Physics) (Peradeniya) / BSc(Peradeniya)

Lecturers of Badulla Branch

Dr. H M J C Pitawala

Lecturer - Physics

BSc (Physics) / Mphil / Lic.Phil / Ph.D

Lecturers of Kaluthara Branch

Mr. Tharindu Atapattu

Lecturer - Mathematics

BSc /MSc (Applied Electronics)

Mr. Premasiri Kumara

Lecturer - Physics

BSc (Spc) Physics / PGDStat.

Lecturers of Kandy / Kurunegala Branches

Mr. Indunil Nishantha

Lecturer - Mathematics - Kandy Regional Centre

BSc (Spec-Mathematics) / MSc(Reading)

Ms. Dinushani Senarathne

Lecturer - Mathematics - Kandy & Kurunagala Regional Centre

MSc (Reading) / BSc(Spe.Mathematics)

Lecturers of Negombo Branch

Mr. Prancasi Silva

Lecturer - Mathematics

BSc (Stat) / PGDEd. / Trained Teacher, Mathematics

Mr. D U K Jayasinghe

Lecturer - Physics

BSc (Spe.Physics)

Lecturers of Rathnapura Branch

Mr. G L Karunarathne

Lecturer - Mathematics

BSc / M.Ed / PGDEd