Academic Senate

The academic senate of the Horizon campus is integral to the university. The academic senate of the Horizon Campus comprises of Vice-Chancellors, Deputy Vice-Chancellor, faculty deans, secretary and librarian.

They are responsible for the implementation of the academic policies, handling the governance structure and performing other academic and professional duties, supporting the vision and the mission of the university. Meet the academic senate of the Horizon Campus below.

VC – Prof.S.J.B.A. Jayasekera

Vice Chancellor

BSc(Agric.) Lyallpur, PhD (Reading, U.K.)

[email protected]

Dr. Ruwan Perera

Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Dean - Faculty of Law

LLB, LLM, Ph.D., (Hull, UK)

[email protected]

Mr.Terance Kahapola Arachchi

Dean – Faculty of Management

Chartered Marketer Postgraduate Diploma in Marketing, CIM UK Master of Business Administration, University of Leicester, UK

Dr.Amal Parakrama Rajapakse

Dean, Faculty of IT

Ph.D. Computational Graph Theory (University of Mining & Metallurgy, Austria), MSc Computer Science (University of Wales, Cardiff, UK), BSc (Hons) Maths Special (PDN), PMP (USA), OCA (USA)

Prof. Dr. Lilanknath Obeyesekera

Dean – Faculty of Technology

PhD & MSc, USSR, PGC, Australia, MCIOB, Sri Lanka

[email protected]

Prof. Shamala Tirimanna

Dean - Faculty of Science

B.Sc. Special Degree in Botany, University of Peradeniya, Sri Lanka
PhD. in Plant Physiology and Molecular Biology, Iowa State University, USA

Dr. Jayanthi Gunasekara

Dean - Faculty of Education

PhD (UK), MA in Ed. Planning and Economics (UK), PGDE, PGD in Education & Psy. Assessment, PGD in Statistics, B.Sc

Mr. M. Milton Wimalasiri

Registar / Secretary

LLB(Colombo) – Attorney-at-Law

[email protected]

Ms. Ganga Dalpitiya


BA,MA (Kalaniya) Library and Information Science

[email protected]

Dr. Selvaranee Illanco

Head-Faculty of Education

BA(University of Peradeniya), PGDip in Education(Open University of Sri Lanka), MSc (University of Peradeniya), MEd(Open University of Sri Lanka), MPhil in Education (National Institute of Education), PhD in Education( Alliance University, Zambia)

Dr. Eranga Karunarathne

Head - Faculty of Science / Senior Lecturer - Faculty of Science

B.Sc. (Hons) Specialised in Chemistry, University of Colombo, Sri Lanka
PhD. in Molecular microbiology, University of Colombo, Sri Lanka

Ms.Samanthi Priyasadini Wickramasinghe

Head - Faculty of IT / Senior Lecturer - Faculty of IT & Executive in Quality Assurance

DBA (Lincoln University College, Malaysia – Reading), MSc in IT (Cardiff Metropolitan University, UK), BIT (UCSC), Dip. in QA in Higher Education (UNESCO), MCS (SL)

Prof. Sisuru Sendanayaka

Dean - Faculty of Engineering

BSc. Eng (Hons), MSc., PhD

Ms. Nadeeka Jayasinghe

Head - Department of Nursing

Bachelor of Nursing (Aust), Post Grad Cert. in Critical Care (Aust), Post Grad Diploma in International Health (Aust), MBA (UK).