Governing Council

The governing council is fundamental to the university. The governing council of the Horizon Campus comprises of an elected board of the Vice-Chancellor, the Deputy Vice-Chancellor, the chairman, secretaries, directors and senior lecturers.

As the highest governing body of the university, the governing council leads the way together, in order to achieve our organizational objectives. They ensure excellent outcomes, that shape the future of our students. Meet our governing council below.

Mr. Upul Daranagama


Dip. (HRM), B.Sc. (ACC FM), FABE, MBA

[email protected]

Mr. Ayesh Fernando


B.Eng. (Hons) (Sheffield, UK)

[email protected]

Mr. Prasanna Dissanayake



[email protected]

VC – Prof.S.J.B.A. Jayasekera

Vice Chancellor

BSc(Agric.) Lyallpur, PhD (Reading, U.K.)

[email protected]

Mr. Ajitha Wanasinghe

Chief Executive Officer

Dip.Mktg(CIM-UK), MCMI, MBA (Finance)

[email protected]

Mrs. Maryanne Hills

Principle HCI

B.A. (Hons), M.Ed.

Prof. S. Mohanadas

Chancellor - University of Vavuniya Honorary Member

Dr. Ruwan Perera

Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Dean - Faculty of Law

LLB, LLM, Ph.D., (Hull, UK)

[email protected]

Prof. Dr. Lilanknath Obeyesekera

Dean – Faculty of Technology

PhD & MSc, USSR, PGC, Australia, MCIOB, Sri Lanka

[email protected]

Prof. Sisuru Sendanayaka

Dean - Faculty of Engineering

BSc. Eng (Hons), MSc., PhD

Mr.Terance Kahapola Arachchi

Dean – Faculty of Management

Chartered Marketer Postgraduate Diploma in Marketing, CIM UK Master of Business Administration, University of Leicester, UK

Dr. Jayanthi Gunasekara

Dean - Faculty of Education

PhD (UK), MA in Ed. Planning and Economics (UK), PGDE, PGD in Education & Psy. Assessment, PGD in Statistics, B.Sc

Mr. M. Milton Wimalasiri

Registar / Secretary

LLB(Colombo) – Attorney-at-Law

[email protected]

Mr. Charith Suranga

Head of Finance

B.Sc.(Applied Accounting) , CBA (CASL)